Spring is here

03152010 084
And it’s about time! This winter was a little more harsh for us here in the Low Country of North Carolina, so I’m very much looking forward to WARMTH!

In honor of the approaching warm seasons I’ve been doing a lot of organizing and “Spring cleaning.” I’ve also been doing lots of crafting! I’ve made a bunch of hair bows as planned over the last couple of months. Usually they are given away when they kids attend birthday parties and I never find the time to snap a pic or two. I’ll have to get some of the bows I’ve made for the girls here on the blog eventually. But first- on to knitting:

03152010 094

03152010 100
This cute hooded shrug (for E, sz 5/6) was based loosely on the Shroodie pattern. MODS: Used KFB to increase as I’m not fond of holey projects, picked up 44 stitches per sleeve with matching solid and knit in 2×2 rib for 66 rows (approx. 11″), added to the hood (it was too small if I followed pattern), and made a small scallop crochet edge to the hood and bottom of body, added sc edge to front sides for a more finished appearance, and finally added draws for the hood to balance that out.

Yarn used was dyed-by-moi BBR and made to match the Cupcake line from Gymboree.

03152010 112

03152010 120
I made this Striped Smock Top (for A, sz 24 mo) using few modifications: KFB increases and casting on an additional 4 stitches when connecting body after binding off sleeves.

Yarn used is Selah Organic Honey Merino in the Pretty Woman colorway with coordinating silver trim in the striping and ribbing at bottom of the body.

03152010 054

I have lots more planned and I’ve finally figured out who’s getting what for Easter. Sure is about time, only a few weeks left- we were getting down to the wire! Next up:

I also want to take a minute to RAVE about how great my iPod Touch is for knitting! Heck, it’s great for a lot of things but for a knitter following patterns, or even for making notes as the knitter creates patterns, the Touch is a gift fromย Arachne herself!

    Leave a Reply

    