On the needles

In my efforts to become a better blogger, I’m going to begin to share the projects I’m working on and have finished. With a house full of kids and very little time I will do my best! I am quite excited for school to begin again, three will be out of the house during the daytime and I can (hopefully) get better into the swing of designing and such. Unfortunately, last week I found out I have mono so that’s been a time suck as well- lots of exhaustion and feeling utterly crummy. I can only wish that I will be better soon!

I have been knitting my heart out when I can. I recently finished this lovely test knit for the wonderful Elena Nodel, Queen of the Waves shrug which will be releasing soon…

Alma is wearing her shrug over her Ariel inspired Sea Siren tank, another upcoming design of mine for the Knitted Fairy Tales series, currently in testing. She just adores the super silky milk fiber (Viking of Norway Milk & Honey), lace cuffs, beads and sparkling buttons. The version of the Sea Siren she is wearing is the cropped, plain hem style. If you are on Ravelry you can see the project page for Sea Siren here. I am still looking for test knitters for this pattern, so please join the test forum for details and signup. I would like to release Sea Siren by late August and it’s a quick seamless knit, top down with no finishing- when you’re done you weave in your ends and that’s it! I will be working up my second prototype in a week or so with full length and the lace hem option.

I’m currently working on an embarrassing amount of projects but in design news I am working up the Henry prototype for my Knitted Fairy Tales series of patterns inspired by the TV show Once Upon a Time. Should be ready for testers in late August for an early fall release. I also have my second Éowyn (for my Bookworm Series) prototype (dress version) on the needles in some delightful Madelinetosh Tosh DK. I’m finalizing the math and adding the final touches to the pattern which will be ready for testing tomorrow if time allows. The first prototype (tunic version) can be viewed here.

Next up for release will be the Blue Fairy shawl & Owen hat prototypes (Knitted Fairy Tales) and the Rue cardigan (Bookworm Series) in early fall. I will post photos and details as they go into testing and release.

Tests, tests, tests, tests! I am test knitting quite a few things for various designers. I really enjoy the opportunity to edit patterns for others, as it gives me a nice break to my own design work. Keep your eyes peeled for the releases of these lovely and innovative designs!

Finally I have my relaxation project, one so simple that I don’t need to keep to a pattern every moment and can kick back and hang with the kids or watch movies as I work…

9cf326a4f9e911e2986122000a9f194c_7My super luxurious Daenerys knit with Colour Adventures Exquisite Sport (a scrumptious blend of merino/silk/cashmere) in Elena’s Watercolors colorway, a real treat. This is the Dragon’s Rest Shawl pattern. I am working the lace spine and body section currently and as the wing edges (or rather, the end of the knit) grows near I will use some Madelinetosh Merino DK in the Heuchera colorway. In my mind the violet matches Dany’s eyes to perfection and I just know that when I wrap myself in this beauty I will truly feel like a khaleesi!

Leave a Reply

